Jump to the article
Best Electric Brush

Sonicare 9900 Prestige vs the Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige

Same $380, two different brushes. The Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige (HX9834) adds a colour display with coverage feedback, eight modes, a wall adapter and Philips' 90-day money-back offer; the original (HX9990) has years of owner history. Check the model number before you pay.

Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .

Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.

Pick one in ten seconds

At the same price the Next-Gen gives you more, and Philips’ 90-day money-back offer covers the risk of buying a new model.

Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige

Choose the original Prestige (HX9990) if

you want the version with the longer track record, and SenseIQ, five modes and a charging case are enough.

about $380 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Philips Sonicare Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige

Choose the Next-Gen (HX9834) if

you want the display that shows missed areas, eight modes, a charging base with a glass and a wall adapter in the box.

about $380 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Jump to a section
  1. The quick way to tell which one you’re looking at
  2. What the Next-Gen adds
  3. What the original still has going for it
  4. What’s in each box
  5. What you see while brushing
  6. Three years of ownership
  7. The risk with a new model
  8. What about the Next-Gen DiamondClean 8500?
  9. What people ask us next

Search Amazon for “Sonicare 9900 Prestige” and you’ll get two families of listings at about $380. The original Prestige 9900 (model numbers starting HX9990) has been on sale since the early 2020s. The Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige (model HX9834/92) went on Amazon on August 31, 2026. Almost no ranking published before September covers the new one, and plenty of shoppers won’t notice they’re different.

The quick way to tell which one you’re looking at

  • The title says “Next-Gen DiamondClean” and the model is HX9834: the 2026 brush with a display on the handle.
  • The title says “9900 Prestige” with SenseIQ and the model is HX9990 (or a BD bundle code): the original.
Spec by spec (shaded rows are where they differ)
Prestige 9900Next-Gen 9900
Cleaning actionSonic with SenseIQ adaptive powerSonic, Next-Generation, SenseIQ, colour display on the handle
Brushing modes5 (Clean, White, Gum Health, Deep Clean+, Sensitive)8
Intensity levels33
Pressure sensorYes: light ring, and SenseIQ turns the power downYes: glows green at the right pressure; SenseIQ adapts power
TimerSmarTimer, head reminderCoverage map on the display, post-brush feedback
Battery (brand figure)Up to 14 daysNot stated on listing
ChargingCharging stand plus charging travel caseCharging base with glass, charging travel case, wall plug included
Travel caseCharging caseCharging case
AppYesYes
ADA SealNot stated on listingNot stated on listing
Brush headsA3 Premium All-in-OneA3 All-in-One (click-on)
Warranty2 years2 years, plus a 90-day money-back offer from Philips
StatusCurrent (first sold 2021; HX9990)New; on Amazon US since August 31, 2026
Model number (US listing)HX9990/13HX9834/92
On Amazon US sinceMarch 2022August 2026
Amazon US checkSold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026)Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026)
Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026)about $380about $380
Est. 3-year cost$537$522
BuyPricePrice

What the Next-Gen adds

An interactive display on the handle. During brushing it tracks coverage, glowing blue for areas you’ve finished, and afterwards it shows where you missed. Pressure feedback glows green when you’re in the right range. Mode count goes from five to eight, still with three intensities, and SenseIQ still turns power down if you lean on it. The box is fuller, too: two A3 heads instead of one, a charging base with a rinse glass, the charging travel case, and a wall plug, which the original doesn’t include. Philips adds a 90-day money-back offer on top of the two-year warranty.

What the original still has going for it

A long track record and plenty of owner feedback. Early feedback on the Next-Gen is limited and mixed so far, which is normal for a brush two months old, but it means fewer known quantities. The original also rates its battery at up to 14 days; Philips’ Next-Gen listing doesn’t give a figure. And if you want spare heads up front, there’s a five-head pack of the original for roughly $50 more, which is the best value way to buy a Prestige right now.

Three years, estimated from our Oct 30, 2026 prices: one handle, then a fresh head every three months. Larger refill packs cut the striped section. A ballpark, not a quote.
Sonicare 7300$268
Next-Gen 9900$522
Prestige 9900$537

Handle Replacement heads

What’s in each box

The original Prestige listing we track (HX9990/13, pink) includes the handle, one A3 Premium All-in-One head and a charging travel case. The Next-Gen (HX9834/92) includes the handle, two A3 All-in-One heads, a charging travel case with a USB-A cable, a charging base with a glass, and a wall adapter. That’s one more head and the plug that most Sonicares leave out.

What you see while brushing

The original tells you about pressure through a light ring at the base and adjusts its power with SenseIQ. The Next-Gen keeps SenseIQ, glows green when your pressure is right, and adds coverage feedback: areas turn blue on the display as you finish them, and after brushing it shows what you missed so you can go back. If you want to change a habit, that’s the feature that does it.

Three years of ownership

Both use A3 heads at about $14.25 each on Amazon US. With one head in the box, three years of the original come to about $540; with two, the Next-Gen comes to about $525. The difference is small, and it favours the newer brush.

The risk with a new model

The Next-Gen went on sale on Amazon US on August 31, 2026, so there’s little long-term owner history yet. Philips lists a two-year warranty and a 90-day money-back offer on it, which is the safety net. If you’d rather buy something with years of use behind it, the original is still sold by Amazon.com at the same price.

Which one should I buy?

If you’ll use a screen that shows what you missed, the Next-Gen: same money, more brush. If you want the proven version, or you’d rather have five heads in the box, buy the original. Buying either one mostly for “the best Sonicare clean”? Look at the 7300 first: it has the 2026 motor family, four modes and a charging case for about $240 less.

What about the Next-Gen DiamondClean 8500?

It arrived alongside the 9900 at about $250. You get the display and pressure feedback, six modes and three intensities, one A3 head and the charging case, but no SenseIQ and no wall plug. For most people it’s a harder sell than either a 7300 or a discounted Prestige.

See the Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige on Amazon

The one in the shop has a different number. Is it the same brush?

Usually yes. Philips in particular sells one handle under several numbers depending on what is in the box, and a club-store bundle is often the same motor with extra heads.

What we checkedAmazon US sells two Sonicare 4100 versions side by side at the same price: the older HX3681 and the July 2026 HX4031 with three intensities.

Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price

Decode any model number

Do I need the app and the sensors?

Most people open it for a week. The models that carry an app are worth buying for the extra modes, the charging case and the quieter drive, and you can treat the tracking as a free extra.

What we checkedThe iO9 maps 16 zones and the 7300 tracks brushing too, but both clean with the same heads and the same motors as the cheaper handles in their own ranges.

Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 7300Price

Which smart features earn their price

What people ask us next

It has more features at the same price: a handle display with coverage tracking, eight modes, two heads and a wall plug. The original has a longer track record and a stated 14-day battery.
How do I know which Prestige 9900 I’m buying?

Check the model number. HX9834 is the Next-Gen DiamondClean; HX9990 is the original Prestige.

Do the two Prestige brushes use the same heads?

Both ship with A3 All-in-One heads and take standard Sonicare click-on heads.

Is the Sonicare Prestige worth $380?

Only if you value the finish, the case and SenseIQ. For cleaning alone, a 5900 or 7300 gets you most of the way for far less.

Is there a Next-Gen DiamondClean 8500 too?

Yes. It arrived alongside the Next-Gen 9900 Prestige on August 31, 2026. We haven’t added it to our picks yet.

Which Prestige is better for sensitive teeth?

Both use SenseIQ to turn the power down under pressure, and both offer three intensities. The Next-Gen’s extra modes give you more gentle options to try.

Next stop