Sonicare 5900 vs Sonicare 7300
The Sonicare 5900 for most people at about $90. Pay about $50 more for the 7300 if you travel (its case charges the brush), want the app or a pressure light you can see; three A3 heads in the box shrink the three-year gap to about $30.
Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .
Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
Decision first
5900 for value, 7300 for travel. Over three years the gap is only about $30.

Choose the Sonicare 5900 if
you want the 2026 Sonicare motor, three intensities and Gum Health mode, and don’t need an app or a charging case.
about $90 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Choose the Sonicare 7300 if
you travel often, want a light ring you can see, the app’s guided brushing, and four modes including Sensitive and White.
about $140 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026
Jump to a section
These are the two 2026 Sonicares most people end up choosing between, and on paper the 7300 looks like a big step up. In daily brushing it’s smaller than the price suggests, and in total cost it’s smaller still.
| Sonicare 5900 | Sonicare 7300 | |
|---|---|---|
| Cleaning action | Sonic, Next-Generation drivetrain | Sonic, Next-Generation drivetrain (62,000 movements a minute) |
| Brushing modes | 2 (Clean, Gum Health) | 4 (Clean, Sensitive, Gum Health, White) |
| Intensity levels | 3 | 3 |
| Pressure sensor | Yes: haptic buzz when you press too hard | Yes: light ring at the base |
| Timer | SmartTimer, BrushPacer every 20 seconds, head reminder | SmartTimer, BrushPacer every 20 seconds, head reminder |
| Battery (brand figure) | Up to 21 days | Up to 21 days |
| Charging | USB-A charging stand (no plug in the box) | Charging stand plus charging travel case (no plug in the box) |
| Travel case | No | Charging case |
| App | No | Yes, guided brushing |
| ADA Seal | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Brush heads | C3 Two-in-one (click-on) | A3 Premium All-in-One (click-on) |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
| Status | New generation; on Amazon US since December 2025 | New generation; on Amazon US since December 2025 |
| Model number (US listing) | HX7133/02 | HX7421/07 |
| On Amazon US since | December 2025 | December 2025 |
| Amazon US check | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) |
| Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026) | about $90 | about $140 |
| Est. 3-year cost | $240 | $268 |
| Buy | Price | Price |
What both get right
Three intensity levels, a pressure warning, up to 21 days of battery, a SmartTimer, head-replacement reminders and the newer 20-second pacer that steps you through six zones of the mouth. Both are click-on Sonicares, so any current Sonicare head fits either.
What the extra money buys
- Two more modes. The 5900 has Clean and Gum Health. The 7300 adds Sensitive and White.
- A pressure light instead of a buzz. The 5900 vibrates in your hand; the 7300 lights a ring at the base. A light is easier to obey when you’re retraining heavy hands.
- The app, for guided brushing.
- A charging travel case. The 5900 comes with a USB-A stand and nothing else.
- Three A3 heads instead of two C3s.
The cost twist
Handle Replacement heads
On October 30 the 5900 was about $90 and the 7300 about $140. But the 7300 ships with one more head, and A3 four-packs worked out at roughly $14.25 a head while genuine C3 heads were selling in two-packs at about $15 each. Add three years of replacements and the difference falls to about $30.
Pressure: a buzz versus a light
The 5900 warns you with a vibration. The 7300 has a light ring at the base of the handle that comes on when you press too hard. A light is easier to notice and to learn from, which matters if you’re trying to undo years of scrubbing.
Modes
The 5900 has two modes, Clean and Gum Health. The 7300 has four: Clean, Sensitive, Gum Health and White. Both have three intensity levels. If your teeth are sensitive, the 7300’s Sensitive mode on the lowest intensity is the gentlest setting in the pair; if stains bother you, it’s the one with White.
Charging and what’s in the box
The 5900 ships with two C3 heads and a USB-A charging stand. The 7300 ships with three A3 Premium All-in-One heads, a charging stand and a charging travel case. Neither includes a wall adapter. Both are rated at up to 21 days per charge, so the case matters less for battery than for protecting the head and keeping one cable in your bag.
The arithmetic
The 7300 was about $140 on Amazon US on October 30, against about $90 for the 5900. But A3 heads (about $14.25 each) cost slightly less than the 5900’s C3 heads (about $14.98), and the 7300 includes one more head. Over three years we estimate about $240 for the 5900 and about $270 for the 7300.
Colours and model numbers
The 5900 we track is the navy HX7133/02. The 7300 comes in white (HX7420), black (HX7421), pink (HX7422) and navy (HX7423), all at the same price when we checked, and all first listed on December 7, 2025.
Which should I get?
If you’ll never travel with it and can’t see yourself opening an app, the 5900. If you have gum issues, travel more than a few nights a year, or want the light-ring pressure warning, the 7300 is worth it, especially when you count the heads.
Neither of these has a plug in the box, so keep a USB adapter handy.
Do I need the app and the sensors?
Most people open it for a week. The models that carry an app are worth buying for the extra modes, the charging case and the quieter drive, and you can treat the tracking as a free extra.
What we checkedThe iO9 maps 16 zones and the 7300 tracks brushing too, but both clean with the same heads and the same motors as the cheaper handles in their own ranges.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 7300Price
I already have heads. Will they fit a new handle?
Only inside the same family. Oral-B iO heads fit iO handles and nothing else, classic round heads fit every Oral-B that is not an iO, and any modern click-on Sonicare head fits any modern Sonicare handle.
What we checkedWe mapped every handle on this site to its head family and the price of a genuine pack.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price
The questions that come up
Philips groups them in the same 2026 range. The 7300 listing quotes 62,000 bristle movements a minute; the 5900 listing doesn’t give a figure.
Does the Sonicare 5900 have a pressure sensor?
Yes. It gives a haptic buzz when you press too hard. The 7300 uses a light ring instead.
Does the Sonicare 5900 come with a travel case?
No. The 7300 includes a travel case that charges the brush.
Does the 7300 have a stronger motor than the 5900?
Philips quotes 62,000 bristle movements a minute for the 7300 and describes both as Next-Generation Sonicare. In use the difference you’ll notice is the extra modes and the light, not the motor.
Is the 7300 the same as the Sonicare 7100?
They’re siblings in Philips’ 2026 range. On Amazon US the 7100 was only available as an imported European unit from a reseller, so the 7300 is the one we recommend there.