Oral-B iO9 vs Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige
The iO9 for the best feedback on the handle and cheaper heads; the Sonicare 9900 Prestige for gentle sonic cleaning that turns its own power down when you press too hard. Both come with a charging travel case and an app.
Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .
Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
Pick one in ten seconds
Choose by cleaning style. For tender gums, the Prestige 9900; for everyone else, the iO9 costs much less to run.

Choose the iO9 if
you like Oral-B’s round head, want a screen showing mode, timer and pressure at a glance, and want iO heads at about $10 each.

Choose the Prestige 9900 if
you have sensitive teeth or receding gums and want a brush that lowers its own power under pressure (Philips calls it SenseIQ).
about $380 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026
Jump to a section
At this level, both brushes clean superbly and both come with charging travel cases and apps. The differences are in how they give you feedback, how they feel, and how much the heads cost.
| iO9 | Prestige 9900 | |
|---|---|---|
| Cleaning action | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive | Sonic with SenseIQ adaptive power |
| Brushing modes | 7 | 5 (Clean, White, Gum Health, Deep Clean+, Sensitive) |
| Intensity levels | 1 | 3 |
| Pressure sensor | Smart sensor: red too hard, white too soft, green right | Yes: light ring, and SenseIQ turns the power down |
| Timer | Colour display: timer, mode, battery, head reminder | SmarTimer, head reminder |
| Battery (brand figure) | About 2 weeks | Up to 14 days |
| Charging | 3-hour fast charger plus charging travel case | Charging stand plus charging travel case |
| Travel case | Charging case | Charging case |
| App | Yes, 3D tracking in 16 zones | Yes |
| ADA Seal | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Brush heads | iO heads | A3 Premium All-in-One |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
| Status | Current | Current (first sold 2021; HX9990) |
| Model number (US listing) | iOM9.4B2.2A | HX9990/13 |
| On Amazon US since | August 2022 | March 2022 |
| Amazon US check | Listed, but no main offer when checked (Oct 30, 2026); price is our estimate | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) |
| Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026) | Varies | about $380 |
| Est. 3-year cost | $302* | $537 |
| Buy | Price | Price |
Feedback
iO9: a colour display on the handle shows mode, time and pressure, and the app’s 3D tracking maps 16 zones of your mouth. It’s the more informative brush to look at.
Prestige 9900: SenseIQ adapts power to your pressure and can flag scrubbing motion as well as pressure. It’s the better brush for correcting technique, especially if you have gum recession.
Feel
Oral-B’s round head cleans tooth by tooth with a thorough, polished feel. The Prestige is gentler and quieter, with a slim, premium handle.
Heads and running costs, compared
Both are expensive to run. The Prestige’s A3 heads are pricier than iO heads, so its three-year cost is higher.
Handle Replacement heads
* Partly estimated: the handle had no main Amazon offer, the exact head wasn’t on sale, or only a reseller listed heads.
What happens when you press too hard
This is the real difference between them. The iO9 tells you: its sensor shows red when you push too hard, white when you’re too light and green when you’re right. The Prestige 9900 does something about it. Philips says SenseIQ checks your pressure, motion and coverage up to 100 times a second and lowers the intensity when you press too hard, while a light ring at the base warns you. If you know you scrub and don’t trust yourself to react, the Prestige protects you without asking.
Modes and settings
The iO9 has seven modes chosen on the handle’s display. The Prestige has five modes (Clean, White, Gum Health, Deep Clean+ and Sensitive) and three intensities, so fifteen settings, which you choose in the app; without the app it simply runs your saved settings. If you like changing modes day to day, the iO9 makes it easier.
Battery and cases
Philips rates the Prestige at up to 14 days. The iO9 manages about two weeks. Both include a charging travel case, which means one cable for a trip. The iO9 also ships with a 3-hour fast charger.
The cost of owning each
The Prestige 9900 was about $380 on Amazon US on October 30 and uses A3 Premium All-in-One heads at about $14.25 each; the box we track includes one. Three years come to roughly $540. The iO9 had no main offer that day; at our $220 estimate with four heads in the box and iO heads at about $10.20, three years come to about $300. That’s a large gap for brushes that both clean well.
Two Prestiges on sale
Since August 31, 2026, Amazon has also sold a Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige (HX9834) at the same $380, with a display and eight modes. The one compared here is the original HX9990. Our old vs Next-Gen Prestige page shows how to tell them apart.
Choose the iO9 for the most thorough clean and the best on-brush display, ideally on sale. Choose the Prestige 9900 if you have sensitive teeth or recession, or you know you scrub, and you want the most refined sonic brush.
Which one fits you
You build up tartar quickly or like a firm clean: the iO9. Oral-B’s round oscillating head has a small edge for plaque in clinical comparisons.
Your gums are sensitive or receding: the Prestige. SenseIQ turns the power down by itself when you press too hard, which no iO does.
You travel a lot: a tie. Both come with charging cases and last around two weeks.
You care about running costs: the iO9. Genuine iO heads were about $10 each in a five-pack on October 30; the Prestige’s A3 heads about $14.25.
The Prestige also has a new sibling, the Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige, with a screen on the handle like the iO9’s. See old vs Next-Gen Prestige.
Is a $380 brush actually better than a $50 one?
Not at cleaning. Past a pressure warning and a timer you are paying for a quieter motor, a screen, a charging case and an app. Those are nice. They do not remove more plaque.
What we checkedThe $50 Pro 1000 and the $380 Prestige 9900 use the same two ideas: move the bristles faster than a hand can, and stop you pressing.
Our pick for thisOral-B Pro 1000Price
Do I need the app and the sensors?
Most people open it for a week. The models that carry an app are worth buying for the extra modes, the charging case and the quieter drive, and you can treat the tracking as a free extra.
What we checkedThe iO9 maps 16 zones and the 7300 tracks brushing too, but both clean with the same heads and the same motors as the cheaper handles in their own ranges.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 7300Price
Odds and ends worth knowing
The iO9 is more thorough and informative; the Prestige is gentler and better at catching scrubbing. Both are top-tier.
Which is cheaper to own?
The iO9, because iO heads cost less than Sonicare’s A3 heads.
Do both have charging travel cases?
Yes.
Which has the better app, Oral-B or Sonicare?
Oral-B’s app focuses on mapping where you brush, and the iO9’s 3D tracking is the most detailed version of it. Sonicare’s app is where you set the Prestige’s modes and get guided brushing.
Do the iO9 and Prestige 9900 use the same heads as cheaper models?
Yes. Any iO head fits the iO9, and any click-on Sonicare head fits the Prestige, so you can use cheaper C2 heads on it if you like.