Laifen Wave Pro vs Oral-B iO5
Choose the Oral-B iO5 for proven round-head cleaning, an app that maps where you brush, and heads sold everywhere. Choose the Laifen Wave Pro if a battery rated for up to 70 days and $5 heads matter more to you than a long track record.
Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .
Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
Which to buy
For most people the iO5 is the safer buy. The Wave Pro is the more interesting brush, and about $80 cheaper to run over three years.

Choose the Wave Pro if
you hate charging, travel a lot, or want cheap heads: Laifen rates the battery at up to 70 days and genuine heads were about $5 each.
about $100 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Choose the iO5 if
you want Oral-B’s round-head clean, app tracking of where you brush, a travel case in the box and heads you can buy anywhere.
about $120 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026
Jump to a section
On October 30 the Laifen cost about $100 to $130 depending on material, and the iO5 about $120. Both have pressure sensors. Beyond that they’re very different propositions.
| Wave Pro | iO5 | |
|---|---|---|
| Cleaning action | Hybrid: 60° oscillation plus 66,000 vibrations a minute | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive |
| Brushing modes | 2 (Daily Clean, Deep Clean) | 5 (Daily Clean, Whiten, Super Sensitive, Sensitive, Intense) |
| Intensity levels | 3 per mode | 1 |
| Pressure sensor | Yes: warns you and slows the motor | Smart sensor: warns of too much and too little pressure |
| Timer | 2-minute timer, 30-second pacer | Light-ring timer, head-change alert |
| Battery (brand figure) | Up to 70 days (Laifen figure) | About 2 weeks |
| Charging | Wireless base, USB-C | Magnetic charger |
| Travel case | Not stated on listing | Yes |
| App | Yes | Yes, tracks where you brush |
| ADA Seal | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Brush heads | Laifen heads (Pro Series packs fit all Laifen models) | iO heads |
| Warranty | Not stated on listing | 2 years |
| Status | Launched January 2026 | Current |
| Model number (US listing) | Wave Pro | iO G5.1A6.1K |
| On Amazon US since | January 2026 | July 2022 |
| Amazon US check | Sold by the brand’s Amazon store (Oct 30, 2026) | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) |
| Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026) | about $100 | about $120 |
| Est. 3-year cost | $150 | $232 |
| Buy | Price | Price |
Cleaning
The iO5 uses Oral-B’s magnetic iO drive and round head, the style with the strongest clinical track record. The Wave Pro sweeps through a 60-degree arc while vibrating at up to 66,000 times a minute. UK testers have found it effective, especially in Deep Clean mode, though there’s far less independent data on it.
Battery
No contest. Laifen claims up to 70 days; the iO5 manages around two weeks.
Smart features
The iO5 has app connectivity with position detection. Check the Laifen listing for your market if app features matter; the iO5’s tracking is the more established system.
Heads and support
iO heads are sold everywhere. Laifen heads come mainly from Laifen and Amazon. Oral-B has decades of support behind it; Laifen’s toothbrush business is a few years old.
Handle Replacement heads
What three years of heads cost
The Wave Pro comes with two heads and Laifen’s own refills were about $5.00 each in a six-pack on Amazon US on October 30. The iO5 comes with one Ultimate White head, and iO heads were about $10.20 each in a five-pack. Add the handle prices (about $100 for the Wave Pro in ABS plastic, about $120 for the iO5) and the three-year totals land near $150 and $230. Laifen also sells aluminium, clear and stainless steel versions of the Wave Pro at $120 to $130; the motor and heads are the same.
Pressure warnings compared
Both brushes watch your pressure. The iO5’s sensor uses its light ring to show when your pressure is right and when it’s too much, which you can see in the mirror. The Wave Pro reminds you and slows its motor when you press too hard, so you feel the warning rather than watch for it. Either works; people who press hard without noticing tend to respond faster to a light.
The apps
Oral-B’s app is about coverage: it tracks where the brush has been and shows the areas you rush. Laifen’s app is more about tuning, with mode and intensity changes in real time, reminders and what Laifen counts as more than 2,000 brushing combinations. Neither app is needed for the brush to work. If you’re buying an app brush to fix a habit, the Oral-B approach is the more useful one.
Water, travel and charging
Laifen rates the Wave Pro at IPX8 and says it’s fine in the shower. It charges on a wireless base that plugs into USB-C. The iO5 charges on Oral-B’s magnetic charger and includes a travel case; Laifen’s Amazon listing doesn’t mention a case. On a two-week trip the iO5 needs its charger along. The Wave Pro, on Laifen’s figure, doesn’t.
Track record and support
The iO5 has been on Amazon US since July 2022 and Oral-B lists a two-year warranty. The Wave Pro went on sale in January 2026 and Laifen’s listing doesn’t state warranty terms. Laifen has built a following with hair dryers, but a brush needs to last years and keep getting heads. That uncertainty is the main reason we’d still point a cautious buyer to the iO5.
Choose the iO5 if you want proven cleaning, app tracking and heads you can buy anywhere. Choose the Wave Pro if battery life matters most, you travel often, or you want to try something genuinely new.
Which one fits you
You travel for weeks at a time: the Laifen. A 70-day battery claim and USB-C beat the iO5’s two weeks on a proprietary charger.
You want the most proven cleaning style: the iO5. Oral-B’s round oscillating head has the longer clinical record.
You want low running costs: the Laifen, by a distance. Genuine six-packs worked out at about $5 a head on October 30, against about $10 for iO heads.
You want an app to fix your technique: the iO5’s position tracking is more mature, though the Laifen app lets you fine-tune modes and intensity.
How long before the battery dies, and can it be replaced?
Three to five years is the normal range, and on almost every sealed handle the battery is the end of the brush. Nobody sells you a replacement cell, so treat the warranty length as a hint about how much the brand expects it to last.
What we checkedWarranties on the handles here are two years at Oral-B and Philips. Laifen quotes up to 70 days per charge, which means far fewer charge cycles over the same years.
Our pick for thisLaifen Wave ProPrice
How much will the replacement heads cost me?
Roughly $30 to $60 a year per person at four heads a year, which over three years usually beats what you paid for the handle. Price the heads before you pick the brush, not after.
What we checkedGenuine heads we priced on Amazon US on October 30 ran from about $2.49 each (Aquasonic, eight in a box) to about $18.46 each (Quip Rev).
Our pick for thisAquasonic Black SeriesPrice
Asked and answered
It has much better battery life and a unique motion. Oral-B iO has the stronger track record and wider head availability.
Which is better for travel?
The Laifen Wave Pro, by a wide margin, thanks to its battery.
Can I use Oral-B heads on the Laifen Wave Pro?
No. The Wave Pro takes Laifen heads only. Laifen says its Pro Series head packs fit all its models.
Which is better for travel?
The Wave Pro, if you trust the battery claim: weeks between charges and a USB-C base. The iO5 has the travel case, though, so pack something to protect the Laifen’s head.
Is the Laifen Wave Pro sonic?
It’s a hybrid. The head sweeps through a 60-degree arc and vibrates at the same time, so it feels like neither an Oral-B nor a Sonicare.