Jump to the article
Best Electric Brush

Philips Sonicare for Kids review

A gentle sonic brush with a free app that turns two minutes into a game, about $35. For kids who fight bedtime brushing, the app is the whole point; for kids who don’t, the cheaper Design a Pet edition is enough.

Written by Dev Marlowe. Last checked and updated .

Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.

Jump to a section
  1. Gentle by design
  2. KidTimer and KidPacer
  3. The app
  4. What it doesn’t have
  5. Two Sonicare for Kids on Amazon US
  6. Setting up the app
  7. Heads by age
  8. KidTimer and KidPacer
  9. What it doesn’t have
  10. Switching a child from a manual brush
  11. Looking after it
  12. Things readers check with us

Ask parents what the hardest part of kids’ brushing is and almost nobody says plaque. They say “getting two minutes.” The Sonicare for Kids is built around that problem, and it’s been a fixture on kids’ lists for years because it solves it reasonably well.

Gentle by design

The brush has two power settings. Its lower setting is very soft, so the buzz doesn’t startle a three-year-old, and you can move up as they get used to it. The heads are smaller than adult Sonicare heads, with a compact version for younger children.

KidTimer and KidPacer

The built-in timer can start shorter and build up to the full two minutes over time, which is a clever way to make the habit stick without a fight. The pacer signals when to move to another part of the mouth.

The app

The Bluetooth-connected version (the HX6321 model) pairs with Philips’ kids’ app, where a character rewards full brushing sessions. It works for a lot of kids, at least for months. Some parents report that the novelty fades and the app becomes a bargaining chip; others say it’s the only thing that worked. If you’d rather keep phones out of the bathroom, the non-Bluetooth Design a Pet edition is the same brush without the app.

Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321): the spec sheet
Cleaning actionSonic, kid sized
Brushing modes2
Intensity levels1
Pressure sensorNo
TimerKidTimer ramps up to 2 minutes, KidPacer
Battery (brand figure)Not stated on listing
ChargingCharging stand
Travel caseNo
AppYes, Sonicare for Kids app (Bluetooth)
ADA SealNot stated on listing
Brush headsSonicare for Kids compact / standard
Warranty2 years
StatusCurrent; first sold 2015
Model number (US listing)HX6321/02
On Amazon US sinceMay 2015
Amazon US checkSold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026)

What it doesn’t have

No pressure sensor. For young children who are mostly brushed by a parent, that’s fine. For an eight-year-old brushing alone and scrubbing hard, the Oral-B iO Kids is the better choice.

Three years of ownership, estimated: the handle plus a fresh head every three months, at Amazon US prices from Oct 30, 2026 and the per-head price of genuine packs. Bigger packs and sales shrink the striped part. A ballpark, not a quote.
Oral-B Kids 3+*$85
Sonicare for Kids*$115
iO Kids$179

Handle Replacement heads

* Partly estimated: the handle had no main Amazon offer, the exact head wasn’t on sale, or only a reseller listed heads.

Today’s price on Amazon

Two Sonicare for Kids on Amazon US

The Bluetooth model (HX6321/02, turquoise, ASIN B00YAR7ZL6) has been on Amazon since May 2015 and was about $35 from Amazon.com on October 30. The Design a Pet edition (HX3601/01, ASIN B0BN2DK5YX), listed since March 2023, was about $30. This cheaper one has no app; it has Gentle and Extra Gentle settings, a rubberised compact head, a USB charger with no wall plug, and reusable stickers so kids can build their own pet on the handle.

Setting up the app

The app is free and connects over Bluetooth. Children brush along with a character, earn rewards for finishing, and parents get a section that tracks how long and how often they brushed. Philips says 98% of parents found it easier to get kids to brush longer and better. Our view: it works best for children aged roughly four to eight, and it works for weeks, not years.

Heads by age

Sonicare for Kids heads come in two sizes: compact for younger children and standard for older ones, roughly from age seven. The box we track includes two heads. Kids’ heads click onto adult Sonicare handles too, though the reverse isn’t recommended for small mouths.

KidTimer and KidPacer

The KidTimer starts short and builds up to the full two minutes over a few months, which avoids the battle of asking a three-year-old for two minutes on day one. The KidPacer tells them when to move to the next part of the mouth.

What it doesn’t have

No pressure sensor, which is fine for most children, who are more likely to under-brush than over-brush. Philips quotes 500 strokes a second for the sonic motor; in a child’s mouth on the lower setting, that feels like a tickle.

Switching a child from a manual brush

Start with the lower power setting and let your child press the button. Some children dislike the buzz at first; letting them try it on their fingers, or on a parent’s teeth first, takes the surprise out of it. Keep the KidTimer’s short early sessions instead of insisting on two minutes from day one; the timer is designed to build the habit gradually.

Looking after it

Rinse the head and let it dry upright, off the charger stand if water pools there. Replace the head every three months, or sooner if your child chews the bristles, which most do at some point. Pull the head off once a week and rinse the shaft, where toothpaste builds up.

If brushing is a nightly battle, this is the brush most likely to end it. Choose the Oral-B iO Kids instead for older kids who brush alone and press too hard.

Worth putting beside it

What changes if one of these goes home instead of the Sonicare for Kids, priced on Oct 30, 2026.

Oral-B iO Kids

Oral-B iO Kids

about $45 on Oct 30, 2026

  • adds a pressure warning
  • comes with a travel case
  • $10 dearer up front
  • about $64 more over three years

Full review

Oral-B Kids 3+ Rechargeable

Oral-B Kids 3+ Rechargeable

about $30 on Oct 30, 2026

  • about $30 less over three years
  • heads cost $3.00 less each
Philips Sonicare for Kids, Design a Pet Edition

Philips Sonicare for Kids, Design a Pet Edition

about $30 on Oct 30, 2026

  • no app

How much will the replacement heads cost me?

Roughly $30 to $60 a year per person at four heads a year, which over three years usually beats what you paid for the handle. Price the heads before you pick the brush, not after.

What we checkedGenuine heads we priced on Amazon US on October 30 ran from about $2.49 each (Aquasonic, eight in a box) to about $18.46 each (Quip Rev).

Our pick for thisAquasonic Black SeriesPrice

What each head family costs

Are the cheap heads on Amazon counterfeit?

Some are. Fakes concentrate in third-party multipacks of Oral-B and Sonicare heads, and the tell is usually bristles that splay inside a month and a collar that rocks on the shaft.

What we checkedWhen we searched for Bitvae D2 refills on October 30, Amazon US showed only third-party packs and no brand store listing.

Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price

Six things to check on a head pack

Things readers check with us

Philips markets it for ages 3 and up. Use the compact head and the lower power setting for younger children.
Does Sonicare for Kids need the app?

No. The brush works fully without it. The app adds rewards and tracking.

Can adults use Sonicare for Kids heads?

Sonicare kids’ heads are made for children’s mouths and the kids’ handle. Adults should use adult heads.

Is the Sonicare for Kids app free?

Yes. It’s free and works over Bluetooth with the HX6321 model.

Design a Pet or the Bluetooth model?

Design a Pet if your child brushes willingly and you want to save about $5; the Bluetooth model if brushing is a nightly argument.

Next stop